Press Release

The Development Bureau today (28 February) announced the appointment of Ms Tam Siu-ying, Iris, and Ms Lau Sze-wan, Serena, as Directors of the Board of the Urban Renewal Fund Limited (URFL) from 1 March 2013 to 14 August 2014.

Mr Law Yee-kwan, Quinn, who has served as director of the URFL Board since 15 August 2011, will resign with effect from 1 March 2013, upon his retirement from the position of Managing Director of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA).

"I am grateful to Ms Tam and Ms Lau for agreeing to serve as directors of the URFL Board. Their professional background and experience in urban renewal and related disciplines will contribute to the work of the URFL," the Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, said.

"I would also like to express my sincere gratitude to Mr Law for his outstanding service to the Board since its establishment," the Secretary for Development continued.

Ms Iris Tam will succeed Mr Quinn Law as the Managing Director of URA.

Ms Serena Lau is the Managing Director of RHL Appraisal Limited and

Immediate Past President of the Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors.

The URFL, incorporated as a company limited by guarantee on 15 August

2011, was set up pursuant to section 6(2)(s) of the URA Ordinance to act

as the trustee and settlor of the Urban Renewal Trust Fund (URTF). The

URTF, with an endowment of \$500 million from URA, provides an

independent funding source to support the operation of the social service

teams which render assistance to the affected owners and tenants of the

urban redevelopment projects implemented by URA. The URTF also

supports planning and related studies of the District Urban Renewal

Forums as well as heritage preservation and district revitalisation related

initiatives proposed by non-governmental organisations and other

stakeholders in the overall context of urban renewal.

The establishment of the URTF is one of the major initiatives under the

new Urban Renewal Strategy promulgated by the Government on 24

February 2011.

The membership of the URFL Board with effect from 1 March 2013 is as

follows –

Chairman

Professor Joe Leung Cho-bun

Directors

Dr Andrew Chan Ping-chiu

Mr Bosco Fung Chee-keung

Mr Patrick Fung Pak-tung, SC

Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun

Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan Mr Edward Leung Yee-wah Mr Jeffrey Leung Kei-sin Ms Iris Tam Siu-ying Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung

Secretary

Mr Joseph Wong Kam-man

Ends